Opinions on this cut test mei

John C

3 hours ago, PNSSHOGUN said:

it has been inlaid with some degree of skill.

I was trying to look for signs of it being inlaid or written on the surface. I found a couple of spots where I can see a shadow (indicating inlay) and the rust is covering some characters but I'm still learning what to look for. Does it seem "too" nice for 1670??

John C.

p.s. not interested in buying just learning.

Hello, I don't know too much but I think this is gimei. Because the inscription of testing is not so good, the inscription of Kotetsu is a little bit different in letter by letter and the nakago jiri is different too from other genuine Kotetsu.

• Like 1

I checked @Markus Sesko's book, Tameshigiri.  He has 100 names in the Edo period that did testing, but Jurobei is not on the list.  He points out that some of them had other jobs and did testing on the side.  I found a Jurobei, a samurai, in this Myths and Legands - The Quest of the Sword.  If he was a real person, and not a myth, he could have done a testing on the side.  Or the Japanese faker that sells through Komonjo took the name from the myth.  No way to know.

• Thanks 1

Here is an NBTHK Hozon mumei katana with Okada Jurobei’s kiritsukemei. So, he seems to be a real person, though Kotetsu mei may be questionable.

Ref. 日本刀 無銘(越前関)(銀象嵌)下ヲケス工落岡田十郎兵衛重長(花押)試焉 (金象嵌)ニツ胴入土壇村井三丞長止(花押)試焉 |日本刀 刀剣販売 e-sword

• Like 1
  • Love 1

Gold doesn't rust. Seems suspicious.

Curious regarding the seller. Seems to have a strong presence on Ebay, but often his listings carry disclaimers. Never dealt with him bar sending a few questions about swords he has had listed. Unreliable?

45 minutes ago, Corradobrit said:

Unreliable?