HELP NEEDED for Sword Markings~ VET acquired from 1st marine

post-5133-14196912696182_thumb.jpgHello Good People~ I have been collecting swords (and started collecting Japanese swords about 2 years ago)- This came from father of a fellow teacher that I work with~ I went to his home, and he had this sword, his helmet, dogtags, an m3 fighting knife and a rifle, I also had him write an affadavit stating he brought the items back!! My problem is, my resource library is limited and I cannot find these markings that are on the kashirae, etc etc It is certainly late war, not a handmade blade, but everything else is wartime, no doubt in my mind! Can anyone help me with the ID? is it Locomotive related or? Sorry if I sound so simplistic, but I am a newbie...Thanks! Any help would be appreciated!post-5133-14196912699613_thumb.jpg

post-5133-14196912690137_thumb.jpg

post-5133-14196912693436_thumb.jpg

post-5133-14196912702435_thumb.jpg

The fuchi-gashira are not standard WWII Japanese military pattern. The handle has been rewrapped and incorrectly placed two menuki on one side of the tsuka. The tsuba looks a bit thick. I am guessing this may be a non-Japanese made item. Show us pictures of the blade and nakago to be sure...

Hi.

First up please sign your posts with at least a first name, (board rules). We need to see pictures of the rest of the sword to be certain but at the moment there are some question marks. The mounts are not shingunto mounts, the hilt wrap is certainly wrong and the tsuba is also doubtful. If you can find it there should be a mekugi, (bamboo peg) under the hjilt wrap at some point. This should push out though you may have to struggle a bit. When this is free the sword should come out of the nakago, can't resist saying that you need to be careful at this point. The decorative motif, which I assume you refer to as the markings, has no connection with anything railway oriented I'm afraid.