Building a Kagi-ba

Danocon

Hello all

My name is Dan O'Connor and I have lurked around here for a while.

Great information guys-Thank you

If anybody is interested, I am building a Kagi-ba (sword forging shop) from the ground up. I have been forging blades off and on for about 30 years. I am truly an amateur but I was able to work with some Japanese swordsmiths in the 80s. Including the Yoshihara brothers. Please don't misunderstand, I am not claiming to be trained by them just that I had the opportunity to work with them the times that they were in Dallas.

Anyhow I am chronicling the build and subsequent forging of blades here.

http://www.katanabuilders.com

I cover the building of the forge itself, the fuigo (box bellows), making charcoal and on and on.

This is not a fast operation since I have a fairly demanding day job but it is proceeding.

This may add some background and insight to go along with your study of Nihonto.

Come and look if you like, comment if you like.

Thanks again for all the great info here.

Sounds fun. I dabble a bit in the making of stock blades, getting into heat treating and all that with a recent coal forge acquisition, and the fast realization its not large enough for my wak. ;(

So much to learn and that darned day job always interrupting.

Best of luck.

Regards

Please show us some of what you have already forged.

Ken Goldstein

Uh No :D

I have been away from the forge for 8 years now as I built my house. And while I would not say I am not proud of what I have made before I would say that much of it reflects a lack of commitment. I bounced between swords and woodworking tools-planes mostly.

Building this Kagi-ba is in many ways a new beginning. There is a huge difference between Japanese style blades and Nihonto. Am I pursuing recreating Nihonto? Not exactly-But there are levels and nuances I can take from the long tradition of Nihonto that will keep me busy for as long as I wish to pursue it.