Precious 'Date' Family Tanto by Sendai Kunikane

Well gee! This is a fabulous little sword. I can only think of 18 thousand reasons not to own it. Indeed, the 13th generation was a fairly interesting guy. He died at the age of 61 in Meiji13 so that was - what - 1880. He was active in Bakumatsu times, but this sword makes it look like the Date Daimyo were as "active" at that time. This clearly was made as an important guy's sword.

Like I said, WOW.

Peter

• Like 2

I have enjoyed looking at this blade. It is very impressive and I look forward to reading more about it as additional information is posted. I wonder, however, if I am the only observer who gets an older vibe from this sword. It doesn't look like a bakumatsu blade to me -- IMHO.

Peter

I have been studying this one for a few weeks. This is a sweet offer Nick has up.

I am still a newbie on koshirae so I can only say that I really like the set. It's far too intricate a work for me to offer any real thoughts or analysis on.

13th gen Kunikane works are seldom seen (or at least seems that way to me). Aoi has a nice katana up by this smith ( https://www.aoijapan.com/katana-ou-kakae-masatomo-oushu-sendai-ju-kunikane-saku-kore-13-th-generation/ ). What I LOVE about this tanto is at the kissaki the masame lines condense and then turn UP and out the mune. Throw back to Hosho masterpiece works. The blade seems period correct to my eyes, though the execution level is high, so maybe seems like an older work? Later Kunikane gens did not display the nie deposition that the best masame smiths often feature, and that's really the only thing missing here.

If the providence can be documented, it's a historical and important piece. 

post-4009-0-10847000-1554164011_thumb.jpg

• Like 2

Since we're on the topic, ...