machine made swords? please clirify

Alex Genikov

Hello there!

As I am new to a military swords Can someone clarify what is actually meant by "machine made sword".

Since there were no CNC machines back then it could haven't been made by machine entirely. 

Is it just refers to a power aided hammer, drill or sending motor?! 

Is It still have to be forged and folded?

Are this "machine made swords" made of one piece of steel or wrapped constriction?

I guess if a modern clean steel has been used instead of inferior tamahagane,  one will not need a wrapped constraction. 

This would be interesting to know,  anyone can help?

Would like to add that I am very sympathetic with  Dave R  at a look on military swords.

On picture a machine made and arsenal stamped  blade.

Best of all

post-5182-0-29535100-1575457782_thumb.jpg

The term "machine made" is something hard to understand. 

There was no machine which made swords.

Every Sword was made by hand. Also the NCO Guntos.

But in use, there was taken industrial steels, damp hammers and oil hardening für NCO swords.

Showa-to are handforged but not in the traditional way. They are made not from Tamahagene and they are hardned in oil.

Only Gendaito are full traditional swords. 

Your sword with arsenal stamp could be a Showa-to. Not made in the traditional way. 

• Like 3

So-called "machine-made" blades only refer to the NCO swords, which were literally machine made.
We call the "arsenal" blades machine made purely to differentiate them from the fully handmade, water quenched, Tamahagane-based swords that are Gendaito.
But most of the arsenal blades are still hammered and forged..maybe not folded in most cases. Still beaten and shaped and quenched in oil. But once something about them is not fully traditional like the quenching or steel type etc, then they are considered not Gendaito.