Repairing/Maintaining a modern armor replica: sourcing lacing/painting materials and finding sewing guides

fleetinbeing

Hello all, this will be my first post on this wonderful forum, but hopefully not the last. Please be gentle if I do things wrong, as I am new to both the community and to your hobby/profession. Many of the proper terms for both armor parts and for styles/materials/techniques are still beyond me.

I purchased this armor on Yahoo Auctions, with no expectation that it would be a proper antique. Honestly I would prefer if it isn't, as I lack the budget and the ability to do justice to an irreplaceable work of art. If I had one, I'd rather give it to a museum where it can be cared for properly.  The price was around $2000 usd.

The first image shows the armor as a whole, the remaining ones show elements that I would like to repair "properly" myself, such as an amateur might. My budget for this repair is low but I could spend maybe $100 on materials.

https://imgur.com/a/RvaR7zM

Of course, if you'd like more images please ask. I have omitted many of the nicer elements to focus on the worst, and I'd be happy to show off the other, better quality areas.

I believe what I have bought is a reasonably high quality reproduction from somewhere in the Showa Era. Even possibly Heisei if it was worn hard. The main elements of the armor show higher levels of detail than in many modern reproductions, particularly on the kabuto, the chest, and the shoulders. However the price is significantly cheaper than newly made armor from the popular shops and it appears to and untrained eye to be more complex than many of the modern reproductions available today. If you think I got swindled I'm happy to hear your opinion, but I'm very satisfied to have this display piece and I have no regrets. I do not intend to wear it for any length of time or activity.

My primary questions are however about cleaning and maintenance and updates: