A Pair of WW2 Japanese Type 95 NCO Swords for Comment

drac2k

As a new member I can not tell you how excited I am to be making my first post! Even though I collect Japanese Swords(as well as others), I am a total amateur and I usually collect on instinct rather than knowledge ,which at times has proven costly.

Recently a friend's wife has contacted me and offered the 2 above swords(not a divorce, but the husband isn't doing so well); I could have bought them for $100.00 each, but I knew that would be thievery. My question to the forum would be "what would be a fair price for each of them,"(one is a side catch), so that I can offer her a fair amount and if it is more than I want to spend, at least I can give her a price to go on so that she will not be cheated.

DSC_0028.JPG

DSC_0027 (600 x 487).jpg

DSC_0020 (600 x 280).jpg

DSC_0021 (600 x 234).jpg

DSC_0022 (600 x 294).jpg

DSC_0023 (600 x 367).jpg

DSC_0024 (600 x 460).jpg

DSC_0025 (600 x 473).jpg

DSC_0026 (600 x 313).jpg

• Like 1

I guy on craigslist posted (5) 300-500 year old swords in good shape for $350. I gave him $500, they were worth thousands. If someone is not a "friend" it comes down to what's a couple of decades worth of books, time and tuition ( losing money to dealers ) worth.   I've also done Kantei for friends for free.  

• Downvote 1

Wow, I hope you bought a lottery ticket as well; what a find! If I saw these swords at a show, I would pay the $200.00 and happily dance away(and I don't dance), however he is a friend and it wouldn't fell right to take advantage of them.

My guess is that they are worth between $500.00 to $650.00 each.

2 hours ago, drac2k said:

Wow, I hope you bought a lottery ticket as well; what a find! If I saw these swords at a show, I would pay the $200.00 and happily dance away(and I don't dance), however he is a friend and it wouldn't fell right to take advantage of them.

My guess is that they are worth between $500.00 to $650.00 each.