Very unusual tsuka

JamesH

Hi everyone,

I am only a newb so please forgive my overenthusiasm for this piece.

I was really taken back by this tsuka, as I have not see tsukamaki stylised in metal before seeing this. I have seen other tsukas where tsukamaki was replaced by metal framing, but never like this :shock: To my untrained eyes this tsuka was just eye candy, though I kinda wish the fuchi kashira were a little nicer.

I am sure many of you have seen the auction for this tsuka, but I thought I might post the photos here, so they remain for reference after the auction page is deleted in 3 months time. If this is in breach of any forum rules, or the seller objects Admins please delete my post. I dont have any affiliation to the seller, and have never dealt with him, so please do not take this as any kind of recommendation.

I am also inclunding the sellers description less the 'selling'

"Wakizashi tsuka with tsukamaki simulated in iron. It is precisely carved to look like silk wrap. The fuchi kashira have a winter landscape scene carved in iron copper inlay and silver nunome depicting snow covered mountains. Copper rope rim finishes the border of the fuchi and kashira."

James

post-2097-14196902509984_thumb.jpg

post-2097-14196902511416_thumb.jpg

post-2097-14196902513161_thumb.jpg

post-2097-14196902514117_thumb.jpg

post-2097-1419690251564_thumb.jpg

post-2097-14196902517422_thumb.jpg

WWII NCO swords have Tsuka made of metal simulating Tsukaito and Same, but I, too, have never seen something like that. I wouldn't exactly consider it "eye candy", however - just because something is rare doesn't automatically make it desirable.

Wow. Never seen anything like that before.

I like it. Just imagine how much work was put into that so everything would fit - overall on tsuka, kashira, menuki...

Only thing that somewhat dampens it for me is that the knot is rather rear is rather large.