Interesting Akasaka tsuba on eBay...

Here is a link to a intresting Akasaka? tsuba being listed on eBay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/TSUBA-IRON-Japanese-SUKASHI-AKASAKA-STYLE-SHIGURE-TEI-DESIGN-/120775481725?pt=Asian_Antiques&hash=item1c1ec7997d#ht_2720wt_1271.

Wait I forgot to use the correct official NMB approved name for the site evilBay. :badgrin: Some strange alternations has happen to the seppa-dai on the ura side of this tsuba. Has anyone seen this before? I don't see it on other Akasaka tsuba comparing it to some published examples I have in books. I have never purchased from this seller from Japan. Any help or comments are welcome. :)

Yours truly,

David Stiles

Hi,

I'm a noob, but from what I know that happens when you have to fit a Tsuba that has a Nakago hole das is too big for the actual Nakago. You hammer on the edged of the hole to force the metal towards the hole thus making the hole smaller.

However, this here is the first time I've seen that done so extremely, usually it's just found on the top and bottom of the hole.

However, this here is the first time I've seen that done so extremely, usually it's just found on the top and bottom of the hole.

Hi Tobias H.,

I am aware of the fact that the top and bottom of the nakago ana (i.e. tang hole) gets altered via a hammer in such a way to fit it to a new tang when a tsuba is mounted on a new sword but I have never seen this done to such an extreme. That was one of the reasons I was pointing that fact out. There also appears a fair amount of interest in the tsuba on eBay due to the number of bids versus the time remaining. Here is a more typical example of what we are talking about from a tsuba in my collection.