Urushi repair

Does anyone know a good book that describes how to restore or recreate the urushi finish on the saya. Ive got some significant scratches on my wakizashi saya under the leather cover where someone removed the saya before loosening the snap studs. This forced the hanger ring down the saya leaving deep wounds in the lacquer.

Because the saya is only partly finished Im going to fit kurikata and kaerizuno plus put buffalo horn around the slot and on the KOJIRI .

Cheers

Hi Steve,

I'm not aware of any "how to books" on the subject in English. These is at least one very basic one in Japanese that I know of but it would probably be less than useless to you.

This site; http://www.urushi-kobo.com/index.html may give you an accurate overview of the complexity of the authentic process. Frankly, I'm not sure this sort of approach could be recommended to a complete novice and it would be worth considering that generally speaking restoring something like this is often a more delicate job than making a new piece.

If you dig around on the net I'm sure you'll find a number of alternative approaches using other types of material and paints etc...personally though, I can't recommend any of them as being in any way comparable to the real thing.

Regards, Ford

Thanks I thought it would be pretty difficult to attempt but the alternative is to build a new saya and use cashew lacquer to finish it. Id like to use the original despite it being a very basic gunto saya.

The problem Im having is finding some seasoned Hoh timber in Australia.

Ive no lack of mostly Japanese hand tools to do the shaping its' the materials.

Today I was watching a deshi finishing off a black urushi saya at an urushi nuri workshop and thinking about asking him to look at my saya. Too many people crowded around so I gave up.

(Some time ago, I stepped back when changing out of armour/armor and I heard a crunching sound under my heel)