Japan Art Expo in Utrecht, June 2024

Is anyone else going the 3rd JAE in Utrecht this June? Has anyone attended the previous Expo's and if you did were the lectures and demonstrations informative? Were the presentations in English? Were the swords and fittings offered by the exhibitors high quality and how were the prices? How was special Friday event for 3 day ticket holders? I'm a novice collector looking make my first nihonto purchases so looking for some insight on what to expect as an attendee at the show.

HB,

please give us your first name plus an initial to address you politely (it is a rule here).

We had some reports on former Utrecht events here in the NMB which might help you. In my memory, the lectures and demonstrations (in English) were interesting, depending on where your collecting focus is. 

The prices were 'normal', I think, for what I was looking at. Buying there is of course a good opportunity and saves you from the hassle of customs and shipping. Can't help you with that special Friday event.  

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I will strongly recommend going. I went to both 2018 and 2023 events, unfortunately I have to skip this one as I will be in Japan.

On both years I enjoyed lectures very much, I think on both years I tried to listen to all of them. They are very nice however they can be quite specific on certain subjects. For me the best part of the events is meeting the people around Europe. It is fun to meet some NMB members, NBTHK-EB members, people that I know from other sword related stuff. Previous years have been excellent on that front, lots of familiar faces.