Sign in to follow this  
niels j

Question Myochin Munekane armor in Leiden

Hello,

My name is Niels and I am a history student at Utrecht university. Nice forum you all have. 

Im writing a thesis about the Myochin Munekane armor in the Volkenkunde museum in Leiden. I discovered it's probably gifted by a Japanese shogun to the Dutch king William the third in 1855 after The Netherlands gifted a ship to Japan. But I found it hard to find a reliable source about this. Without source I can't use this interesting information.  

Does anyone on this forum have a source about this information? A newspaper, a letter, a reliable website, it's all just perfect. One sentence about the gift would be enough. 

Looking forward to your reply's. I added a photo of the armour for making sure where talking about the same piece. 

Kind regards, Niels

image.png.fbc6b46aff03686c07153fa72165e82d.png

Hey Niels, Ik begin nu aan een werkstuk over dit pantser, ik studeer in Utrecht. Ik heb nog niks echt gevonden, helaas, maar mocht ik iets vinden zal ik het meteen laten weten! Ik zal hier ook blijven kijken. 

had je al op deze thread gekeken? Misschien begrijp ik het verkeerd, maar dit kan dus hetzelfde pantser zijn ( of niet), maar misschien dat deze OP meer weet. Hij lijkt de familie te kennen. Het plaatje komt redelijk overeen. 

Edited by RdR
Toevoeging

Dag Niels, wat wil je juist weten?

het harnas was een gift van de Shogun aan de koning van Nederland.

er is nogal wat geschiedenis rond.

40 minutes ago, Luc T said:

Dag Niels, wat wil je juist weten?

het harnas was een geschenk van de Shogun aan de koning van Nederland.

er is nogal wat geschiedenis rond.

Heeft u iets van een bron toevallig over het pantser of de maker? 

I suggest that, as a Board rule, the posts must be written in English/American😄 Otherwise, discuss in PM.

• Like 2

Hello everyone,