Another copper NCO

Hmm

I'm not a metal professional. But after welding a nakago you must re hardned a blade. For me it looks like the nakago is from a cut down sword and assembled together. But as i said I'm not a professional. The Tsuka looks nice to me. But as shamsy said not the whole sword looks as it should.

3 hours ago, vajo said:

I never saw a unmounted copper NCO blade. But if i would see this on a nihonto i would say that is not Japanese like. What you think?

image.thumb.png.11bbf2623e05f0af28ef84ffdc13319f.png

The tang looks welded from another sword to fit.

Tang from another sword with NO mekugi hole?Not likely.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Bruce Pennington said:

The tang, especially with the stacked Kokura cannon balls and HO stamp, looks like it’s from a Muratato.  Which could mean this was a for real factory repair job!

Bruce

I agree with you ,this is original copper handle NCO sword tang for sure.Maybe field repair instead of factory repair though, who knows.

BangBangSan, the observed rework serial range for these is 501 to 2552 and this is based upon eight examples.  They seem to show up in the 5,000 to 6,000 serial number range.  It is my opinion that these swords were reworked by the 1st Factory of Kokura Army Arsenal 小倉陸軍造兵廠第一製造所.  Thank you for pointing out the lack of an original mekugi-ana on the rework.  I had overlooked this important fact and it seems to indicate that the alteration/modification/rework was done at a factory and is not a field repair.

Bruce, more likely an arsenal sword 造兵刀 tang was used rather than a Murata-tō 村田刀 tang?

Vajo, could we be looking at two different repairs at two different time periods?  That is the original Japanese rework and then a later postwar repair to the rear of the tang?

Shamsy, could the scratch marks be caused by the removal of the tsuka and habaki or is it the other way around?  That is, the tang was cleaned so as to allow the removal of the habaki?

• Like 1