Buying blades on the auction sites

jeffbann01

I have always looked at but not ever had the nerve to "pull the trigger" on Japanese blades on auction sites.  I have little to no experience with them but as a general knife collector I can't help but to marvel and want one.

My interest is mostly in tanto type blades.  Most of my knives that I keep are traditional fighting/military knives that have historic significance (of type) and tanto blades fall into this category.

One question I have is about some of the repetitive sellers on the auction websites.  Is there any reference (lists) to "recommended sellers"?

A specific question I have is about the papers that are often shown with them.  I've noticed over the years that sellers will only send a photocopy of the original papers.  Is this a requirement with Japanese law,  or is there some other reason?

Thanks,  Jeff

Why don’t you buy from the dealers of this site? Ray, Ed or Gray? Plus you can often find good deals in the sale section. At least, they can be trusted.. there are some good and honest dealers on EBay, but you have to know what you buy because lots of Gimei (not necessarily bad blades though) can be found on auction sites.

As for the papers you mention, those are Torokusho. These are just registration papers required by Japanese laws. They do not mean the blade is shoshin, just that it was registered with the authorities. They send copies because when a blade is de registered, the paper goes back to the authorities. Of a dealer sends you the original, the blade was certainly smuggled out of Japan.

• Like 4

Thank you.  Starting from the question about the papers,  I thought that it must be something along those lines.

Of course I will be watching the offerings that come up here.  I would prefer to buy from someone who is vetted by a site such as this.

Thank you for the reply,  I will give you plenty of opportunities as questions I have plenty of.

Jeff