Questions about "late war", NCO swords

WilBru5

I am still new to the learning curve of collecting Gunto, so please excuse if this is al ready a well known and covered topic.
As I am gathering knowledge I have noticed something which I find interesting and curious.  The swords described as "Late war" ,or "Last ditch", " Late War NCO sword"... As I understand it there is excepted to be 4 variations of these.  What caught my eye is what I notice, and what is spoke of in a page of Dawson's book( I don't have access to the book, I just ran into a graphic of the page).  Anyway every Ito wrapped Tsuka example I can find...are less refined than the cross hatched wood tsuka variations.  Also, none of the Ito wrapped "variation #4" examples I have found have  a serial number on the blade, nor do they have a fullered blade.  Where as every example of the cross hatched variations have the serial number on the blade, and some are fullered as well.   I found one Ito wrapped example with the tsuka removed which had a serial number on the nakago(tang)…. which has me wondering if the other variation #4 have a serial number on the nakago… But the thing which caught my eye the most is every ito wrapped variation #4 example which I can see the blade has the "HE" stamp of the heijo factory of Korea.  The ones with wood saya where I can see the drag also have the "HE" stamp.... The page out of Dawson's book describe the two which have a readable mark as being the "HE" stamp... I have not seen any example of the less refinded, ito wrapped tsuka, variation #4  with any other stamp than the Heijo factory "HE".  However I have yet to see any example of the more refined cross hatched tsuka variation with a "HE" stamp?  This leads me to the questions:

1. has anybody else who owns a ito wrapped variation #4 taken the tsuka off and found a serial number on the tang?
  2. Has anybody else seem an ito wrapped variation #4 with any other stamp besides the HE of the heijo Factory in Korea?