carp theme?

Reinier

is the carp theme common for fittings?

i'm inspired by mantis dude to collect a single theme that holds a special meaning to me.

i've been fishing for carp for over 10 years now i think collecting carp themed fittings would be a great combination of two passionsof mine.

i also read that the carp stands for courage, persistance, determination and perseverance so that makes it even more interesting.

i've searched a lot of sites and only found 2 tsubas with a carp theme and one with a angling theme.

have you guys come across many carps in the past?

sorry i take every chance to show off ;)

030725_28.jpg

The carp theme is a very polular theme among Nihonto fittings. I am quite partial too, and have often thought it will make a great theme.

I won't post all the links here, but if you google "carp koshirae" you will pull up many links.

Lots of the carp themes depict the koi, but I think I am correct that there is a strong link between the 2, and they are family.

Good luck with your field, you should easily be able to build up a nice collection if the funds allow it :D

Regards,

Brian