good or bad idea?

Reinier

hello

i'm new to nihonto and i have this idea on how i would like to collect fittings but i wonder if it's feasable. i read in a book that samurai sometimes had different mountings for one blade.

i plan on buying my first katana blade in the near future and would like to have different koshirae mountings made for it in different styles/themes/colors.

for each mounting i would buy antique fittings that match nicely to eachother and to the theme i have in mind. i think it would be great fun to search around for matching fittings and would make it less random than just buying seperate pieces for display.

there are three questions i have going through my mind.

1. am i overlooking something? for all i know i'm braking some sacred rule or maybe it's just impossible for some reason i don't know yet...

2. is there a way to avoid sending the blade to Japan everytime i want a mounting made? can i maybe send a tsunagi instead? or maybe i could have several "raw" tsuka and saya made that could be finished on a later date? maybe there is another alternative?

3. are there other things i should be aware of. for example differences in sizes making certain fittings incompatible.

i will greatly appreciate any feedback you can give me.

regards,

reinier korth

the netherlands

I'll leave the technical questions (do I have to send the blade or just a tsunagi) to others. I'd like to discuss whether or no this makes sense for your collection.

As you progress with your collecting and studying your tastes will likely change. Something that impresses you today might be uninteresting in 10 or 20 years. What you're proposing is putting all your eggs into one basket. What's more, that basket of eggs will be very difficult to sell at anything near your investment when the time comes.