suriage tanto on eBay

Hello :-)

I am a new member here, so let me first introduce myself :-)

I am a nihonto beginner living in Warsaw, Poland. I am collecting nihonto, although I cannot afford any superb blades (besides, I wouldn't even recognise one if I had the chance to see it ;-)

I have a question regarding an eBay item: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... &rd=1&rd=1

Does suriage in a tanto have a strong impact on the price? What do you hold of this particular tanto?

Best regards

Mariusz Kolecki

Mariusz,

Hi, Grey here. The only reason I can think of to do a suriage on a tanto is to disguise a defect in the blade close to the machi. If there were a ha-gire just above the ha-machi prior to the shortening it would be lost in the file marks of the new nakago after. Can't say why this tanto was shortened but I'm suspicious. The suriage looks recent. Also, the new nakago looks clumsy, too long.

I think the opening bid is full retail, maybe even more than that.

Yes, suriage always hurts value; ubu is preferred. I think suriage on a tanto is more damaging to value than on a shoto or daito.

Grey

Mariusz,

Hi, Grey here. The only reason I can think of to do a suriage on a tanto is to disguise a defect in the blade close to the machi. If there were a ha-gire just above the ha-machi prior to the shortening it would be lost in the file marks of the new nakago after. Can't say why this tanto was shortened but I'm suspicious. The suriage looks recent. Also, the new nakago looks clumsy, too long.

I think the opening bid is full retail, maybe even more than that.

Yes, suriage always hurts value; ubu is preferred. I think suriage on a tanto is more damaging to value than on a shoto or daito.

Grey

the world's most beautiful tsunagi............

http://www.esnips.com/web/nihonto?docsPage=1#files

klick on all the yukimitsu files.

milt the ronin

You're right about samurai_sword1185, Peter. Here's his ID history:

eBay Member User ID History