Norimitsu mei - gimei?

gtstcactus

Hey Folk,

I have this wakizashi (posted about in nihonto forum) which is signed Bishu osafune junin norimitsu.

So far it seems the mei does not match any known examples...

So is it gimei?

I'm no expert so am likely to be shot down for this theory but if one was forging a norimitsu mei wouldn't they sign it the way the orignal was signed and not in a different way? The blade also lacks the date being inscribed which I am told was often done by some norimitsu of osafune school (I think I recall right).

It was suggested that it could be an unknown Norimitsu or later generation.... Is there anyway to find out about "relatively unknown" smiths?

post-2538-14196805672271_thumb.jpg

In early/Middle Murmachi the classical mei was:

"Bishu Osafune Norimitsu", with often a Nengo (date) on the other side.

In sue Muromachi : There were short mei without date, mostly kazu uchi mono.

Generally "Bishu Osafune + smith name".

What is very strange is the association of "ju" with "Bishu Osafune", unseen with this smith.

Generally "ju" is associated with "Bizen Kuni"

Later generation, unrecorded, why not but .....

Dear Jean

When you said that ju was not associated with Bishu Osafune my first thought

was that this can not be right. I was sure that there were many Bishu Osafune ju.

I have a Norimitsu mine is signed Bizen Kuni ju Norimitsu.

So go out Hawley’s -- you were right no Bishu Osafune ju but I did not give

up so went to Toko Taikan – you were right no Bishu Osafune ju but I did not give

up so when to Nihonto Meikan -- ha! there is a Bishu Osafune ju Norimitsu listed

On page 751 the second listing with a date of 1356 (embun or yembun period)

The listing has a double circle so must be a good smith.

The sword at hand does not seem that old so later generation?

Unrecorded signature style?

Always fun getting out the books and doing some reading.

Later

david

In early/Middle Murmachi the classical mei was: