Need help with signature on antique katana

I just bought this sword (first time buyer and new to site) and would love some help identifying it. There is what I can tell some writing on the tang. There is also some writing under the tsuba that I would like translated if possible. Any help would be surely appreciated.

What do you mean you need more pics?

Sorry...this is a Chinese fake. Nothing Japanese about it. Browse the links above the forum for good info on real swords and a section on fakes.

Brian

tang2.jpg

swordblade.jpg

blade2.jpg

tang.jpg

tsubafront.jpg

I'm no expert I understand this, but I did see that the sword has grain suggesting folding, the hamon isn't super distinct (when it is sometimes it can denote acid to brighten temper line whoch is fraud or not real or true temper) the blade is magnetic, the tsuba and all the added stuff to the sword isn't brass (which I'm told replicas have). From my knowledge and comparisons, the blade isn't machined but seems to be genuine, which is why I bought. But, then again, I am a amateur.

I just bought this sword (first time buyer and new to site) and would love some help identifying it. There is what I can tell some writing on the tang. There is also some writing under the tsuba that I would like translated if possible. Any help would be surely appreciated.

Unfortunately, this statement is one we see far too often from folks who get the nihonto "bug". Hopefully you did not pay much for this "lesson". Now that you have found this board I hope you will take the time to use its resources and to study before your next purchase.

Charles Brashear

Khairete Aphelion :)

Please check this link and take it all in.

http://jssus.org/nkp/fake_japanese_swords.html