WWII era Wakizashi?

Hello all,

A friend of mine recently gave me a sword that he wanted me to try to sell. He knows that I'm no expert in swords but he decided that since I am a frequent ebay user that I would, for whatever reason, be able to sell it. He basically said, "here, sell this."

He said his Grandpa brought it back with him after fighting in WWII. He also said that his Grandpa was stationed in or around the Philippines - he wasn't sure where exactly.

I've been trying to identify it myself as best as a layman can. It seems to be a wakizashi:

The blade is ~ 14" and it's a little over 19" overall (from the tip to the edge of the tang)

It's not in great shape. Someone (I have no idea when) removed the wrapping on the handle, so that it's bare; it's also cracked. The Tsuba(?) is greatly rusted and deteriorated. The tang is very rusty, and the blade is stained with what I'm assuming is blood. The scabbard is also cracked vertically.

The only identifying marks I can find are on the Tsuba and the Fuchi(?).

The mark on the Tsuba is barely visible as it is so deteriorated. The Fuchi seems very well preserved, almost too well, as if it's a newer piece.

From what I've read, if this is indeed a WWII era Wakizashi, then it is possibly machine made.

It also has two holes in the tang even though the handle has only one.

I really appreciate any help. If you need me to take more pictures at different angles or in better lighting or whatnot, just let me know.

... also, since I am trying to sell it, if it is genuine, would you happen to be able to give it some sort of appraisal? I do have a sense of the value of historical items but it's not mine so please don't crucify me. ;)

- Josh

post-2245-1419678723465_thumb.jpg

post-2245-14196787237064_thumb.jpg

post-2245-14196787239827_thumb.jpg

post-2245-14196787242634_thumb.jpg

post-2245-1419678724541_thumb.jpg