Hello Everyone. I was hoping for some Mei signature help.

Nate Stefan

Hello Everyone,

I have been surfing this site for a while and greatly appreciate all of the kind info everyone posts here.

I am relatively new to Nihonto so I am sure I am going to come across as a simpleton.

I just bought a sword on ebay, I was not the winner of the auction but was contacted by the owner and after much assurance from the seller I bought the sword.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... &rd=1&rd=1

It arrived as advertised but now I have more questions. Mostly about the signature. I suspicious of the blade and I am wondering what other people think.

I attached some photos of the date and signatures to help if you would be so kind.

I am sorry if it is improper of me to ask for this help and will not be offended if no help is offered.

Thankyou so much,

Nathan Stefan

post-210-14196734450418_thumb.jpg

Thank you very much Mr. Moriyama,

I greatly appreciate yours and Ichis' guidance. I never expected such a quick reply.

I wanted to buy a quality sword. I am always skeptical of getting a lucky buy on ebay :lol:

I will continue to look for more answers and enjoy the process.

Cheers,

Nate

Thank you again Mr. Moriyama,

The signature does seem similar to me but I don't have the qualifications to judge.

I believe the blade is in fairly good shape but it would need a polish to bring everything out.

Is the fact that it is not razor sharp a concern if it is not in perfect polish. Do blades loose their edge over time?

Sorry for the spam.

Nate

Hi Nate,

The signature looks similar in its feeling. However, I think that there are several differences from the papered signature for each character. Also as for the date, 八 (hachi; eight) looks different to me.

I am a biginner and am not qualified to judge.

I agree and remain suspicious.

For me learning when and by whom it was "made" whether it is real or not was an important step. Thanks again for giving me all this info.