Samurai & sword polish during battle

Mark Green

Hi Gang,

Jean, I will open the new thread for ya.

As a Midievial reanactor, I have some first hand experience with this. In a two week period of being in the field, at war, living in canvas tents, with a good bit of rain. I had an old wak nearly turn brown from rust. I don't think I had it in the open air more than a few times. And I had a fair amount of oil on it most of the time.

So, you can only wonder how badly a sword would get rusted up if it were in REAL combat.

Or just being on campaign for a month or two. So, it is very likely, Samurai had their weapons being polished very often. That is why in times of war, many thousands of swords were being made. In war, swords break, and are being polished every day. Not the kind of ART POLISH we see in modern times, but just enough to get the rust off, and keep them sharp.

There were no finger stones, or Hadori, or any of that mess.

I was told once by on old ww2 polisher that he had 3 stones in the field. I think the last being a hato or jito, or maybe a uchi.

So most fighting Samurai likely had many a sword in his lifetime. If you were lucky enough to live through REAL combat, and have been in the thick of it, you may have owned many a sword in one campaign. there were usualy many swords with no owners after a hot action.

Pick up a new one and drive on.

Mark G

So, it is very likely, Samurai had their weapons being polished very often. That is why in times of war, many thousands of swords were being made. In war, swords break, and are being polished every day.

Polished every day ? :doubt:

In war swords break :idea:

Somebody once said " a sword has 4 battles or four hundred years in it, whatever comes first".

But not because polish, that's for sure...

Hi Carlo, :thanks:

I ment swordssss in the army as a whole were being polished every day. There would be no point in polishing each sword every day, as most would be starting to rust up in a few days.