translation help

kmilano

Hi, my name is Kris and I'm just a beginner with Nihonto.

This is my first wakizashi from open internet auction here in Poland. It was so cheap so I can't belive it's real (about 220 USD). Maby it's a problem with polishing and two craks You can see at the scan?

My private googling about Mei guided me to Bishu Osafune Sukesada(!?). Any suggestion or comment is very welcome. Thank You.

p. s. What a Great Forum :D

post-1074-1419675390016_thumb.jpg

Is there nothing on the other side?

This mei "Bishu Osafune Ju Nin..." is often followed on the other side of the nakago by " Yokoyama Kozuke Daijo Fujiwara Sukesada"

At least on mine it is.. :) Could be a number of other smiths though..such as ....Nagamitsu Saku etc.

What is the meaning of the "nin" part, and why is it not used very often?

Brian

Is there nothing on the other side?

This mei "Bishu Osafune Ju Nin..." is often followed on the other side of the nakago by " Yokoyama Kozuke Daijo Fujiwara Sukesada"

At least on mine it is.. :)

Brian

I thought "Yokoyama Kozuke Daijo Fujiwara Sukesada" was not that common, but the other Sukesadas were ?

Dirk,

It is the "nin" that points to one of the other Sukesada's. Yokoyama Sukesada is far less common than the many other Sukesadas, but I don't know any of them that signed with the "ju nin..." in their mei. Most just have Bishu Osafune ju Sukesada or a variant of that. When I see the "nin" I think of the Yokoyama mei.

Brian

Here's some info from the former forum :

1. Longer signatures which include personal names generally indicate higher quality blades made for a specific order.

2. The use of Bishu rather than Bizen is supposed to indicate a lower quality (bundle sword/mass produced)

3. There was something somewhere about the positioning of the "ju" character before or after Osafune, but I cant remember it or find the reference, someone else may be able to help on that one