WWII Shin-Gunto Sword MEI Identification

cbecket

Greetings, I am new to the forum.  I picked up what I believe to be a genuine WWII Shin-Gunto sword and I started to research the tang markings and wanted to ask what some of them mean.  I believe I dated it correctly as a Showa period made in 1943 with no month markings. It has a Seki stamp.  The signature on the back "Mei" puzzled me.  I believe it says it was made by a person or in a province named "Taira" by a "Kami" Lord Grade Swordsmith.  I would appreciate and be very much interested to hear what you all can tell me about it.  It has a green scabbard.  I would have posted more pictures, but it would have been over limit on upload size.  Thank you for your help. 

Best Regards! 

post-5387-0-13166100-1589162441_thumb.jpg

post-5387-0-88442100-1589162528_thumb.jpg

post-5387-0-83817800-1589162642_thumb.jpg

post-5387-0-08562400-1589162699_thumb.jpg

I am new to this, so Tadayuki is the Swordsmith? Is that denoted by the top character? Is the bottom Charachter Kami, and does that mean that Tadayuki was a high level or "Lord" Swordsmith? Did you agree with my opinion of the manufacture date? Also if the name Tadayuki is the swordsmith, was this sword based upon the sword being made by machine and then finished by hand, how did that work? I find this fascinating!

I'm new to this but can read kanji. First picture just says the year. "Showa 18th Year". There is no "Taira" or "Kami" present. Taira is an ancient Surename from a famous samurai family (Heike). "... no Kami" were usually court positions preceded by name of a province.  

Mike

• Like 1

On the side of the tang that contains the signature of the Swordsmith, there are two possibly 3 characters, what do those characters literally translate to, is it just say Tadayuki? And if so, is there any information on him that I can seek out. Was he known, and did he just finish the sword after it was made by machine?