Getting Started

Matt D

Hello Everyone.  

I'm relatively new to Japanese swords and a new member to this message board.  While studying Kenjutsu and Nihonto, I've also developed an interest in Type 98 Shin Gunto.  The books that I've seen include two by Fuller and Gregory, and another book by Dawson.  Both appear to be out of print and can be a little pricey.  But if I could only purchase one book on the subject, which would you recommend?  Are any other online resources, besides this one, that you would recommend?

Also, where would you recommend that I look to purchase a Type 98 Shin Gunto?  I'm not looking for anything that's particularly collectible.  It also doesn't necessarily have to be traditionally made or an ancestral blade.  But I would like a relatively clean blade with fittings in decent condition. 

Thank you for your help and advice.

Matt D.

Matt

Both Dawson&Fuller book are good,you can check this link as well ,many informations of Gunto.

http://ohmura-study.net/101.html

Hello Everyone.  

I'm relatively new to Japanese swords and a new member to this message board.  While studying Kenjutsu and Nihonto, I've also developed an interest in Type 98 Shin Gunto.  The books that I've seen include two by Fuller and Gregory, and another book by Dawson.  Both appear to be out of print and can be a little pricey.  But if I could only purchase one book on the subject, which would you recommend?  Are any other online resources, besides this one, that you would recommend?

Also, where would you recommend that I look to purchase a Type 98 Shin Gunto?  I'm not looking for anything that's particularly collectible.  It also doesn't necessarily have to be traditionally made or an ancestral blade.  But I would like a relatively clean blade with fittings in decent condition. 

Thank you for your help and advice.

Matt D.