Inherited this blade. Seeking information and care instruction. Complete Novice.

JohnPublic

post-5214-0-98506600-1577171974_thumb.jpg

post-5214-0-83552000-1577172016_thumb.jpg

post-5214-0-97079100-1577171991_thumb.jpg

post-5214-0-26079500-1577172035_thumb.jpg

post-5214-0-07548100-1577172054_thumb.jpg

post-5214-0-13801500-1577172074_thumb.jpg

post-5214-0-08451800-1577172085_thumb.jpg

My grandfather passed away last year and left me this blade that I believe he acquired in Japan while stationed there between 1942 - 1944. I've only had the item in my possession for a few days, but did manage to have some translation done, which, if correct, means that it was produced in June 1942 by Endo Mitsuoki? I've had some difficulty finding much info on the smith other than it seems he was reputable and achieved honors in smithing during his lifetime. 

Any info on the blade and/or the smith would be much appreciated. I would also like some info on care and maintenance. It is missing the pin that goes through the tang, there is some very, very light rust along the blade which I would like to take care of, and the sheath on the blade end is just ever-so-slightly beginning to separate. The knee-jerk response is to buy a bamboo pin on ebay, clean the blade with rust remover, and touch the sheath with wood glue, but I have a feeling that these are all very bad ideas. Any and all guidance would be appreciated.

Thank you.

-Seth 

EDIT: Tried to get a full picture of the blade, hard to do in my current lighting, will get a better one later:

post-5214-0-36528400-1577174134_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum, Seth. You did a darn good job on your photos. Care & maintenance are covered in http://www.nbthk-ab.org/swordcare.pdf  So, yes, a very-bad idea to do anything, except lightly oiling the cutting part of the blade, not the handle. Please leave the shirasaya (sheath) alone until you can send some closeups. Using the correct glue is important.