Student working on Japanese swords during the Edo period

Hey everyone,

I'm coming to you for a specific reason.
I am a french student in art history and in my Japanese art class, I have a paper to write on the theme of the evolution of the Japanese sword during the Edo period.

I thought I would organize my work plan this way:

- Introduction
- I. The Edo Period
   - 1) A time of peace
   - 2) Persistence of military values
- II. Stylistic evolution
   - 1) The emergence of Shinto blades
   - 2) The specific work of the Tsuba
         A) The different schools
         B) The case of Tsuba Namban
- III. Some examples and comments of important works
- Conclusion
- Appendices

What do you think of that? What are the essential notions I need to talk about for the swords of this period? And finally, do you have any emblematic swords from that period that you recommend I study and comment on?

I'm still a beginner so all your advice is welcome!

Thanks, Antoine

• Like 1

Man...there is so much you could write here. You could write an entire book.
Everything from shape changes to uses to the schools and fittings...
I would strongly suggest you cut down the subjects you include, or it is going to take you ages. Edo is a loooong period and a lot happened. Good luck, great subject.

• Like 2

Man...there is so much you could write here. You could write an entire book.

Everything from shape changes to uses to the schools and fittings...

I would strongly suggest you cut down the subjects you include, or it is going to take you ages. Edo is a loooong period and a lot happened. Good luck, great subject.

The edo period is so rich, it's really fascinating.

Any recommendations for documentation on shape changes at this time?

One possible categorization for swords could be geographical. You could have for example

Swords of the Northern provinces (North regions of Japan)

Swords of Edo area (Tokyo)

Swords of Yamashiro & Settsu area (Ōsaka & Kyōto)