Polishing a Window into a Blade

I have a military sword, and it's probably a Showato, but there is a slight chance that it might be a more traditional gendaito.  

The sword's current polish obscures a lot of the blade's details. It is hard to clearly see the hamon, and any potential hada is impossible to make out through the scratches. The blade is covered in fine scratches, none of which look to be particularly deep. 

I don't want to waste a togishi's time, or a substantial amount of money, polishing a Showato.

What is the best and most time/money efficient way to polish enough of a window into the blade to reveal the hada and hamon?

I understand that I will necessarily be doing damage to the blade if it turns out to be a gendaito, but if it does turn out to be a traditionally made blade I have every intention of paying for an art polish (the sword has family history attached to it).

I have some experience working with swords and knives. I've polished and performed edge work and reprofiling of non-Japanese swords (European, Chinese, Indian, Caucasian), including some antiques. I have experience with using stones, hand sanding, files, etchants, and powered belt sanders, grinders, and buffing wheels.

I appreciate any insight the more experienced hands around here might offer, and I would prefer to not go into this blindly and do more damage than is necessary. 

Do I understand right, that you are going to polish a window?

Best

A window into the blade. That is the term a togishi I spoke with used to explain polishing a small section of a blade in order to reveal the character of it hidden under a marred polish, corrosion, or what-have-you.

Man, you can’t do that yourself! It’s a NO! NO! NO!

It’s either you get a togishi to so it, or you don’t. Showato or Gendaito, an inexperienced hand will ruin the blade and it won’t help you make a judgment anyway. It’s a job!

• Like 5

Hardy,