An almost total noob to sword collecting wondering about a model 19 autentic or repro?

MacTheWhopper

Hello everyone. I am very new to Japanese sword collecting. Having only ever bought a a type 32 (long blade) sword, I thought i might add another less expensive sword to my collection. I found this sword which i believe is a model 19 army kyo-gunto sword. The biggest issue I have with it is the markings on the blade. They don't seem to be very common at all which makes me think its a reproduction but before I buy it, could someone help me and let me know what they think. 

post-5159-0-27866000-1573672050_thumb.jpg

post-5159-0-64619300-1573672063_thumb.jpg

post-5159-0-47782600-1573672080_thumb.jpg

That is actually a repro of a Chinese dress sword, the "wheel" was an early Chinese Republican era symbol.

Here are some pics of the sword I had years ago. The better ones were said to be Japanese made and actually harder to find than a IJA dress Saber. You even get kyu Guntos like that (people often think that wheel looking thingie is a Mon)

The full brass cast handle is a dead giveaway, they are not even trying......

post-282-0-96413400-1573703697_thumb.png

post-282-0-76464100-1573703765_thumb.png

• Like 1

IMHO what you speak of is a UNICORN,

with very little ways of written documents or proof.  all the photos showing chinese solders under Japanese control in uniform are displaying Japanese swords.

but happy to open a can of worms and be proven wrong.

but i will say this, the sword your showing IMHO is extremely suspect