Wakizashi ID. WWII era bring back. Want more info on provenance.

aceofspades389

I came into possession of this sword about a year ago. I was told my grandfather came to possess it either during or just after WWII. He worked on a minesweeper, so he probably didn't acquire it from the source. It has no serial numbers, so I don't believe it is a military sword. The blade is about 22 inches with the overall length being about 28 inches. There are no markings on the tang that I can see. The tsuka has markings around the "rim" and both sides of the tsuba have markings. All markings are hidden when the sword is fully assembled. As a complete novice I'm having a hard time finding a direction to look for information on the sword. 

Hopefully I attached detailed enough pictures. I know I didn't include a pic of the tang. I can do that, but there were no markings I could see. Thank you in advance.

Wes R.

post-5148-0-47990100-1572472732_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-31246100-1572472747_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-35572500-1572472761_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-02603600-1572472777_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-60466000-1572472791_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-89290000-1572472806_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-01708900-1572472818_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-68937600-1572472832_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-30048600-1572472847_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-66499600-1572472855_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-16445200-1572472868_thumb.jpg

post-5148-0-15793200-1572472881_thumb.jpg

Well Wes, the bad news is that your grandfather, or the family members he passed it down to, have neglected this sword terribly and both the tsuba and the sword have rusted considerably.  The tsuba, which is signed by the Soten school, appears to have been nearly ruined, while the sword may be able to be restored, though almost certainly is not worth the price of restoration.