Any thoughts on this tanto I'm planning to buy?

Hi,

I'm a beginner at collecting and I'm planning to purchase my first nihonto. I found a tanto in shirosaya that I really like from a trusted seller, but since I don't have much experience, it would be useful to know what everyone thinks about it before I buy it. Specifically, do you see any fatal damages or anything unusual? Are there any signs that it could be gimei? Anything notable that might raise or lower its value? And what price range should I be paying for it? The seller listed $1500 but is open to negotiation, so what would you suggest as the lowest reasonable price?

post-5138-0-50391600-1571807100_thumb.png

post-5138-0-68774900-1571807107_thumb.png

post-5138-0-50488100-1571807125_thumb.png

post-5138-0-34954800-1571807142_thumb.png

Hi, Amy, & welcome to NMB.

Almost all of us were anxious to buy our very-first blade, but the few who did some studying first (NOT including me!) have found that they get a lot more for their hard-earned dollars. Have you bought some basic references books to study, so that you know what you are looking to buy? There are numerous starter book recommendations that a quick NMB search will show you.

As far as the tanto, it's out of polish, probably Muromachi, & looks like it might have two ware on the omote. There's no way to tell if the mei is real, without sending it to Shinsa, & the mei should be the very-last thing you look at when considering a purchase. I wouldn't spend $1500 on this blade, but that's only my personal opinion. Why do you consider the seller as "trusted?"

I agree with Ken's assessment. In my opinion $1500 is way too much for this item unless it had some fantastic mountings to go with it.

I would encourage you to gain more knowledge before you part with your money. Don't be in a hurry there are many quality items out there, some can even be found on this message board.

Hi, Amy, & welcome to NMB.