#1 walrusprincess

walrusprincess

Chu Saku

• Members
  • 5 posts
  • LocationOxfordshire

Posted 08 October 2019 - 08:47 PM

Dear All,

I'm new to this community and an absolute novice where collecting nihonto is concerned (I'm a general collector Japanese antiques, but have never ventured into this area before).  In any case, I'm eyeing an antique katana on sale in the United Kingdom, and I'd be immensely grateful if the experts of the forum could let me know what they think, based on the visual evidence.  I only know that it's 25 and 1/4 inches long, and is supposedly over a century old.  Thank you in advance for all your help!

Best wishes,

P

Attached Thumbnails

• 30FC1879-8DD3-4C7F-A45B-16B065922586.jpeg
  • D715AFF5-E260-4192-81F0-AD14E74D64F1.jpeg
  • 0AFCD22D-783B-42B3-922A-250780A21DB3.jpeg
  • 883D0B23-4D72-4EFA-BBAD-0E10976783A3.jpeg
  • 96E53E0D-35FC-4D7A-8661-D982F04E3983.jpeg

#2 Brian

Brian

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 14,009 posts
  • LocationSouth Africa

Posted 08 October 2019 - 09:01 PM

At first glance there is nothing there worth more than about 200-300 GBP. Age is irrelevant when it comes to Nihonto in that don't let old equal desirable.
That package is pretty average and in need of restoration that would cost far more than the end result.

- Admin -

#3 SAS

SAS

Sai Jo Saku

• Members
  • 1,509 posts
  • LocationAmerican Samoa

Posted 08 October 2019 - 09:01 PM

You don't say the price, but it is not in polish, and does not look to be any kind of treasure.....You would perhaps be better off buying from a trusted member here; check the sales section.

Steve Shimanek
Artist Blacksmith/Bladesmith

Life Member VFW, US Army Desert Shield/Desert Storm

www.oloteleforge.com

#4 walrusprincess

walrusprincess

Chu Saku

• Members
  • 5 posts
  • LocationOxfordshire

Posted 08 October 2019 - 09:11 PM