A question about sori

Hi folks,

Yesterday , I was reading one of Markus’ Kantei supplement and he was talking about the Sori of a sword and suddenly, a question popped into my mind.

Now, being completely self taught about swords and only following books as mentors, I’ve been taught that you measure sori from the mune machi to the kissaki and it gives you both the nagasa and the sori.

Of course, it works great for ubu swords, but what about suriage and Ō-suriage swords?

I’ve been doing it the same way for years, but wouldn’t it be more accurate to measure the sori not from the mune machi but from where the original mune machi was supposed to be if it can be determined?

This way, it would give you a better idea of what the original sori was and also a better way to imagine the original sugata and thus, a sense of the age of the sword.

I may be completely wrong here, or on the contrary stating an evidence, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen this pointed out in any books I’ve read.

So to sum up, should we calculate sori the same way between an ubu sword and a (greatly) shortened sword?

Sorry (sori?) for the stupid question

• Like 2

The big problem will be that sori is non-uniform. Old blades, up to Nambokucho blades can appear almost straight when severely cut down, and "extending them where they should be" is rather complex - especially since these cut-down forms were extensively copied at later times, or accidentally reproduced (cut down Oei can be a close match for cut down late Kamakura).

Just a personal take.

Kirill R.

• Like 5

Actually, that was why I asked the question. You read stuff like “this school usually forged a koshizori” but when you’re in front of an Ō-suriage, machi okuri Blade with almost no sori left, it’s extremely hard to imagine the original sori. An ubu blade is relatively easy to date, others can be a real challenge as sugata has been altered so much that you’re only left with the other Kantei points to come to a conclusion.