help with Cutting test inscription (i think)

Mark

Group,

I try to help others when i can, so i hope someone can offer me some assistance. I have a wakizashi with a silver inlayed inscription. I think it is a cutting test and the testers name but i am not very experienced with these inscriptions. So everyone knows the situation: I own the sword, it will probably be for sale in the future but i do not plan to put it on eBay, i have a friend i trade with who expressed an interest.

Thanks!

post-102-14196749568297_thumb.jpg

post-102-14196749569098_thumb.jpg

post-102-14196749569735_thumb.jpg

Looks like....

???

TSU

DO - (body)

SAI DAN - (Slicing)

MORI - (name?)

SHO SUKE - (name?)

NAO TOSHI - (name?)

KAO - (signature)

not sure of first kanji..... actually not sure I have got any of it right, as my kanji reading is somewhat dubious, should wait until Moriyama san or Morita san is up and about.

Regards!

Guest reinhard

The inscription reads:

"futatsu do saidan" ("tested on two trunks")

The family-name (Mori) can't be found among the more famous and well-documented names of sword testers. Maybe someone else comes up with more profound infos. All in all, this inscription looks like a later addition for commercial reasons to me.

reinhard

Moriyama san

Just a language inquiry here, excuse me for this....

截断   I read "saidan" - (cut/slice)

I would write "setsudan" (cut/slice) like this  切断 

Questions:

Can you read the (older) kanji that I read "sai" as "setsu"?

Is the Kanji  è£æ–­ã€€ã€€"saidan" the modern version of the kanji?

Yoroshikuonegaishimasu!

N.