Was hoping to find out more about a blade that was give to me

Cvzarms

Thank you for the information on this blade, now knowing what it is and doing a little research I think I would like to have it worked on by a pro to bring it's beauty out. Is there anyone you guys could recommend and would it be worth it or will I have more money into it than it's worth? I am a professional gunsmith and have done restorations on antique firearms so I appreciate that restoring a sword would require a trained professional swordsmith as that is an art all it's own

• Like 1

This is a topic that has been covered many times on this forum, but let me summarize. Just because you have a signed blade doesn't mean that it's authentic - I've heard numbers like 70% of all signed blades are gimei. Then, you need to consider whether it's in good-enough condition to polish. I see some small "nail-biters" on the cutting edge, which would be repaired during polishing, so on to that.

First, you're looking at up to $100/inch for a polish. Second, you can't leave a newly-polished blade without any protection from the elements, so you're then looking at several hundred dollars for a habaki, which will hold the blade in its new $500 wooden shirasaya. And you'll end up with a blade worth $1000, at best. There are lots of Kanbun Shinto blades out there!

How much money & effort would you want to put into restoring an old, weather-beaten Remington 700 that's been sitting in a barn for 50 years, Chris? My personal suggestion is to keep the blade as-is, & enjoy it as an old weapon of battle. Put some oil on the cutting surface (not the handle!) so that the weathering doesn't get any worse.

• Like 1