New Oribe Chawan

johnnyi

Hello.  This chawan came in the mail today. I'm hoping to gain some insights from some of you regarding who might have made it and when was it made. It was presented as coming from a "storehouse which, during the 1990's Japanese Olympics, was  uncovered when constructing a highway" (and thus looks untouched.) It was also mentioned that these were accumulated by farmers at this time, many of them broken. This information was also added, "All four pieces I had TL-tested (Cost about $ 400 per piece) have confirmed an age about 400 yrs =/- 20%.".

I have not the knowledge to doubt this might all be true, however my not knowing the seller,  coupled with the bowl's  immaculate condition give room for doubt.   If it was new, who would be making these? (and so well?) I haven't seen another yet of this quality but I'm a novice, and have not seen enough. I'm hoping someone here can enlighten me on what I've got. (the Chawan is large, 147.3 mm and whatever age it might be I really like it). Thanks for your comments, Johnnyi

post-3005-0-15131500-1558109829_thumb.jpg

post-3005-0-17826000-1558109887_thumb.jpg

post-3005-0-56741700-1558109930_thumb.jpg

post-3005-0-81164300-1558109973_thumb.jpg

• Like 2

On older ceramic items, you will generally find traces of use which are visible under magnification. Especially the inner bottom and the footring can show these fine scratches and abrasion.

However, I own a small Chinese bowl from the SONG period that is like new. Together with hundreds of other ceramic items, it was found in a ship wreck and survived on the bottom of the Southern Chinese Sea for about 600 years. 

So, depending on the circumstances, some older ceramic pieces can be found in very good condition or even unused. In these cases, TL might be a way to verify the age. 

On the other hand, if you like the bowl, age is not that important.  

• Like 3