Are these Ko Goto?

Surfson

Hi all of you tosogu experts.  I am debating about what to do with a tanto (signed and dated Oei period Hishu piece), and part of the conundrum revolves around this set of fuchi kashira.  I am not an expert in anything, most not tosogu.  Any opinions about whether these are Ko Goto?  As you can see, I am also not an expert in photography.... Cheers, Bob

post-620-0-26389200-1555880932_thumb.jpg

post-620-0-92039600-1555880943_thumb.jpg

post-620-0-85051600-1555880961_thumb.jpg

post-620-0-68475400-1555880979_thumb.jpg

post-620-0-59590400-1555881017_thumb.jpg

Steven, how about if I rephrase the question - what are they?  Cheers, Bob

Hi Robert.  I agree with Frank on the Ko- Kinko attribution, and as Barry notes, not Ko-Goto. To expand on his remark, If you look at some documented examples you will note the meticulous workmanship of both the relief work and nanako-ji.  Also, any complex compositions use space much more skillfully than in this instance and, generally, allow some breathing room.  Goto work is carefully composed and drafted, nothing is left to chance.  

-S-

• Like 1

Not ko-kinko IMHO. Rather a relatively crude late Edo product.

Well, agree on the seeming crudity, but there is the matter of the black lacquer that hasn't been discussed and Robert's observation very nice detail on unworn parts.  Does this indicate old, i.e. Ko Kinko, or was black lacquer on tosogu a feature even at the end of Edo???  The nanako is to my eye very crude indeed compared to top work, yet I can't see enough in the horses to comment.

BaZZa.

BaZZa,

I might be dead wrong, of course. Black lacquer is indeed rare in Edo, the gilding is worn, too. Those two factors speak for ko-kinko. The horses, however... the style is strange, it reminds me of late Edo mass production. That is what I meant by "crude" and not the absence of perfect workmanship.

• Like 1