$15k and NTHK

While I am relatively new to this type of collecting I can say from having asked a similar question that NBTHK is definitely the go to for larger purchases. I have been told especially if there is ever intention of resale so the question would then be why hasn't the seller already submitted it. If $15000 should be I imagine a th or juyo contender with NBTHK which would of course increase value.

Not at all, this board is phenomenal and has an amazing wealth of knowledgeable people that love answering questions. Again my thought would be not having NBTHK papers that they like the NTHK assesment more... I'm sure you will soon get insight from more experienced people and I look forward to reading the responses though not as much as you do I'm sure

What he was getting at and I have been told the same by a few people is to trust judgment and things of that sort. Essentially if you like the sword by the sword but I think that rationale works a lot better with a much smaller price tag

I’ve heard NTHK only deliver a paper when they’re absolutely sure of an attribution (dunno if it’s true) so while NBTHK is the most popular, maybe (preparing for the **** storm that’s going to follow :)) the NTHK is more reliable?

• Like 3

My answer is maybe. You can not receive a definate answer to this question. It depends on the sword. I would first look at the sword. Simons answer is quite accurate therefore.

The question is wheter the sword is worth 15k. Present NBTHK papers are prefered by most collectors / dealers but I would not say that a NTHK-NPO paper is no good. It is an oppinion by someone supposed to have expertice.

I'm a complete novice still and have no doubt the NBTHK have absolute top level Shinsa experts, the NTHK director/head judge takes care of among other things the emperors collection so either organizations opinion is as good as the others I would say. They're not throwing darts in the dark at either organization.