Loose Tsuba And Seppa Guidance

Manny

Hi all, i am new to sword collection and need a bit of help. I own a Shin Gunto signed by Emura. There is movement in the tsuba and seppa which is corrected when a fourth seppa is added. My problem is that when the seppa is added the blade no longer locks in the saya.

I am less interested in the sword as an investment and more as an article of Japanese military history.

And now for what might be a very naive solution: what are your thoughts on adding shims to the saya so that the blade is held in place without the use of a locking mechanism?

Any help would be greatly apprciated.

Respectfully,

Manny

Generally any Japanese sword is a tight fit, and has an even number of seppa. What you describe sounds like the sword has suffered from shrinkage in the organic parts  of the mounts, or is a mismatch in some way... However, I think an Emura signed blade can get a pass on the odd issue.

• Like 1

Thank you so much. The the military type Tsuba and Fuchi have been replaced with one that appears from the Edo period or is custom made. The blade only has 3 seppa.

Again, thank you. I don't want to do anything dumb.

R/

Manny

Manny, I have a July 1943 dated showato blade in nice Type 98 mounts with the exact same issue. Loose tsuba. Add a couple seppa, the tsuba tightens up, but then the clip doesn't have enough clearance to latch into the scabbard. All the koshirae parts are matching numbered, so either there's been shrinkage in the wood over the past 75 years or so, or possibly the original koshirae has been swapped out. 

I added a couple blank seppa because the loose tsuba bugged me too much when I handed it. But as mentioned above, unless you're planning on cutting with it (which you really shouldn't) it isn't too much of a problem. 

Traditionaly 

Thank you so much. The the military type Tsuba and Fuchi have been replaced with one that appears from the Edo period or is custom made. The blade only has 3 seppa.