Greetings And Autumn Tsuba

raynor

Greetings all, new on the board and looking forward so bask and soak in people's knowledge!

I wonder if anyone can tell (or guess) anything about this tsuba? It's iron, supposedly pre 1800. Leaves has a nice autumn look.

About 2.6 inches/6.7cm wide, 2.8inches/7.2cm tall with no signature.

mSNz6rA.jpgQy6Pxzj.jpg2WnXWYO.jpg

Hi Mauro,

Thanks for the information. I'm very new to this, I come from Chinese martial arts background and am just learning about the Japanese swords after falling in love when studying how they were made and used compared to Chinese versions.

When I saw the metal inlay I knew I wanted to grab this tsuba.

Just curious, how did you know or find that information? Trying to learn  :)

Hi Stephen. There are one place I'm sure and another I can't tell if any of the inlay has been lost, see photo. Are you referring to something else?

As for the material it is difficult to pin down if it looks more bronze or gold to my eyes. Skakudo is the gold and copper alloy right? The inlay has a almost a organic autumn leaf color if that helps? Love how it looks in natural sunlight.

I'm out of town til around Halloween then I'll be able to put up photos not quite this bad, these are all from the ebay auction.

At 1 even my untrained eyes can tell a tip of grass is gone.

At 2 I'm not sure if something is gone that was attached, the round metal encircled does not look like a fresh break point, maybe just the shape of the big leaf's left top is putting me off.

At 3 I think a flower is somewhat eroded or banged (battle damage?  :ph34r: ) but I am honestly just guessing here. 

Certainly looks like this thing was used

rYJPAey.jpg

Anything else anyone can tell me is welcome, tiny bit of metal but seemingly with a bit of a history.

edit

Now I think I get what you mean. I honestly cant tell if it was cleaned too well beforehand, I'm afraid I yet can not tell a horrible shakudo patina from an excellent one, complete novice.