Probably Gunto?

ChrisW

I know this sword is likely to be a gunto however, the hamon on it is gorgeous and I feel it falls into the category of traditionally made. I am just a novice, so I thought I would get an opinion on it. The pictures really don't do it any sort of justice and the nakago's color is definitely darker than the pictures show. The tsuka and fittings did not come with the blade originally, it just sits really well in a spare set I have so I display it as such. The habaki was made for it though, as it fits like a glove and there are no gaps with it.

Does this hamon and profile match any known smith or school? As always, any information is dearly appreciated. In any case, its a very pretty blade and it displays well!

~Chris

post-4665-0-72660300-1539658952_thumb.jpg

post-4665-0-61771400-1539658959_thumb.jpg

post-4665-0-60138100-1539658974_thumb.jpg

post-4665-0-27435800-1539658982_thumb.jpg

post-4665-0-65787800-1539658986_thumb.jpg

post-4665-0-72646500-1539658991_thumb.jpg

post-4665-0-77082100-1539658996_thumb.jpg

post-4665-0-59960700-1539659001_thumb.jpg

On a real hamon, there are dots of martensite yes? I see such tiny dots all over the hamon's edge. I imagine that's no guarantee, but they're present throughout the entire hamon edge. I really don't have much experience photographing these blades, so if there's a guide on how to do that, let me know please and thank you!  If there is an expert in my area, I'd be more than happy to show them my collection and get some opinions.

Thanks!  ...I might have to get a better camera than my phone then. It wasn't meant for such up-close pictures, but I'll try and see if I can. I had to turn the blade to a certain angle to catch the light to show the hamon as clearly as it did in the above pictures, that might have also made the proportions look off.