Maetate Condition

Ken-Hawaii

A fellow collector recently bought a nice set of yoroi, & asked me this afternoon about the kabuto's maetate. Should he polish the brass, or leave it in its current greenish & stained state?

He wants to polish it, & put on a preservative, & I haven't got a clue if that's kosher. Thanks for any advice.

I'm by no means knowledgeable about armor and maedate, but if I'm not totally wrong, most were made of lacquered paper, leather or wood. At least that's my impression from looking at quite a few period pieces. I've never seen any maedate made of brass that I would confidently place in the Edo period, those always seem to me like later replacements.

Again, I'm not an expert, so I would like to hear from those forumites more familiar with the topic whether my observation is correct or not.

That's really interesting, Guido! Most of what I've seen are brass or bronze, and I thought they were contemporary with the kabuto. I'll ask Eddie to send me a photo or two, but his maedate is definitely brass. He just sold his house, & is busily packing everything up, so I hope I get to him in time.

post-366-0-26218800-1538560446_thumb.jpgKen,  What appears to be brass is more often gilded copper. I have several made in this material that I know are original - one ridiculously tiny pair of kuwagata (only about 8cm across) with a kirimon between them actually all takes apart but why you would want to do so escapes me. Wood and rawhide are also common enough, both being gold lacquered in the main. If the one you refer to is very corroded I would leave it. The gilding is inevitably porous and the corrosion products leach out onto the surface. Attempts to clean it will probably strip off the remaining gilding.

Ian Bottomley

• Like 3

The general rule for antiques of metal is Silver and Brass are ok to polish, but Copper and Gold should remain with the patina.