Help Identifying A Sword

capajo02

Hello to the members of the forum! First, let me offer an apology: I am, unfortunately, just another person who joined to "pick the brains" of the members here.  I have tried to do my own research, spending a great deal of time trying to learn proper terminology, sword construction, parts, etc. and I have fallen down the internet and written-material rabbit hole with seemingly little knowledge to show for it.  I hope you will forgive me for adding to the "help me" posts by complete novices.  

I am interested in acquiring an original WWII-era sword for a personal display.  I am a militaria collector, not a sword aficionado.  (I do collect private purchase US edged weapons from World War II, but I know very little about Japanese blades.)  My main concern is just confirming the story that this could, in fact, be a WWII vet-bringback sword and is from the WWII-era. 

To show I have tried to do at least some of my own research: I assume this is a machine-made blade, but I am not sure as there are no detailed photos.  I also see that the fittings (tsuba, kabuto-gane) appear to be non-military, but the leather-covered saya does look military. Please let me know if this is a correct configuration for a sword from before or during the war.  

Photos attached.  Thanks in advance for any opinions.

post-4560-0-61196700-1529344803_thumb.jpg

post-4560-0-90911600-1529344985_thumb.jpg

post-4560-0-60742100-1529344999_thumb.jpg

post-4560-0-21125600-1529345026_thumb.jpg

post-4560-0-85581400-1529345059_thumb.jpg

post-4560-0-78249400-1529345071_thumb.jpg

post-4560-0-76822900-1529345184_thumb.jpg

I suspect this is an earlier blade remounted and taken to war.
Old blades that were utilitarian in nature were purchased and used. Most of the fittings there are pre war, not wartime. May even be a wakizashi, as many were.

• Like 1

Hello Brian,