Hawley - Japanese Swordsmiths 1967 Vs 1998

Hi,

I have the opportunity to obtain a copy of the 1967 version of Hawley's Japanese Swordsmiths.

I am wondering if the information is still relevant? Or is it all obsolete compared to the 1998 version. I guess my question is... is the 1998 version completely updated or just a few points here and there.

Also this is my first post here so I will introduce myself. I have been a fan of Japanese Swords since childhood when I saw the movie "The Bodyguard" in the 90's (try not to laugh). I have been collecting and reading sword books since the early 2000's. So far my book collection is mostly introductory texts, a few museum catalog books and a couple of Japanese language books on Tanto. I also have "the connoisseur's book of Japanese swords" which is the one I refer to most often.

I am looking at getting into some more technical stuff before I make my first visit to Japan (hopefully next year)

Thanks,

Matt

Hello:

I believe you are referring to the so called "Blue Hawley" which is two volumes, the thicker 1966 and the thinner 1967, and they should come with a thin supplement titled Supplement #3, containing 400 additional names. Why I also own the later Brown Hawley I will never know as it adds nothing except the incorporation of the foregoing in one large and awkward book. The earlier Hawley books are much more handy and better bound as well.

Arnold F.

Hi Matt,