Needing Information About My Nihonto

Tamura

Hello,

I am new to the world of Samurai Swords.   I have always dreamed of owning one.  About two years ago, I was able to buy one.  I have limited information on the sword.  I know that it is hard to judge anything from a photo, but was hoping someone could give me some general information about it.  I am looking for detailed information on the sword maker.  I know that like beauty, value is in the eye of the beholder.  I am hoping someone can give me a idea of what the sword is worth.  This information is just for me. 

post-4467-0-25505300-1522609905_thumb.jpg

post-4467-0-88322200-1522609931_thumb.jpg

This is all the information I got from the seller:

Type - Katana

Sori - Low

Kissaki - chu

Shinogi - Shinogi kukuri

Horimono - nane

Hamon - Midare

Surface Pattern - mokume

Mekugi Ana - One

Length - 27 1/2

Remarks - Yamato School  - 1558

Chu Saku

Signature - Namdo Ju Kanabo Saemon Jo  Masa Sada

Does anyone have any information or history on blade and/or maker?     And what could be the value of the sword?

Welcome to the forum, Tamura - I'm assuming that's your last name, & we normally address people by their first, & you can add that in your signature.

A couple of points. First, when you're posting a photo of the mei (signature), please shoot it vertically so it can be easily read. Second, for people on NMB to help you, good photos are a necessity. Key areas to shoot are the nakago (hilt), boshi (area near the tip), machi (where nakago meets the blade), & several points along the blade. They need to be clear, in-focus closeups so that we can see the details, because it's the details that make or break a blade's value.