Converted Fittings: Any Way Back?

skipskip25

Sorry I'm new to this. I thought my info would show up in the post. My question is regarding some items that are coming up for auction. I'm trying to find out if the silver backing on this bracelet can be removed as well as the rivets and silver blades on these fruit knives.  Any info would be helpful ( cost,craftsmen,time frame). The bracelet would clash with my style and my kids would destroy the knives :) Thank you 

Pete R.

post-4417-0-79973400-1519364872_thumb.jpgpost-4417-0-42905800-1519364894_thumb.jpgpost-4417-0-96085600-1519364952_thumb.jpgpost-4417-0-74405400-1519365051_thumb.jpgpost-4417-0-06177400-1519365104_thumb.jpgpost-4417-0-77164700-1519365211_thumb.jpgpost-4417-0-06180800-1519365228_thumb.jpg

Pete,

All your maladies can be cured by a competant restorer/conservator, unfortunately there are very few in this field.  Some frequent this forum, perhaps someone will step forward.  The time involved to do this work is not going to be inexpensive, an approximate cost I would not venture to guess. As to the pieces and their relative merit, that is a matter for you and your restorer. My personal opinion won't move your decision as well as costs and the marketplace will.  Now, close your eyes , click your heals together, and repeat three times .....Ford Hallam.  If you are fortunate he, or one of his minions, will make themselves known to you. Hope this is helpful.

-StevenK

• Like 1

Hello,

My question is regarding some items that are coming up for auction. I'm trying to find out if the silver backing on this bracelet can be removed as well as the rivets and silver blades on these fruit knives.  Any info would be helpful ( cost,craftsmen,time frame). 

Pete R.