My First Sword.....maybe

Cajunsteve

I am new to this message board and collecting and have an opportunity to purchase an old sword from an elderly friend. He has owned it many years and know very little about it. I showed him how to remove the grip and he sent me photos. The sword measures 87.6 cm and the blade 69.85 cm, The Saya is wood and the sword mounts appear to be from the WWII era. I believe it has an old Tsuba(iron) and blade. The Habaki with nice cat scratch. There are no arsenal marks on the tang. The Mei was translated by Manuel on the NMB  as  左近将監藤原盛綱作 Sakon shogen Fujiwara Moritsuna saku. 

Thanks again Manuel! Grev. has been a big help and I have learned about the meaning of Sakon shogen and the Fujiwara name use. I looking for any information on the maker and general opinions on this sword. My apologies for the photos as the sword is  6 hours away and were provided to me by my elderly friend. Many thanks in advance for your inputs.....Steve

post-4384-0-83783500-1518723092_thumb.jpeg

post-4384-0-89921600-1518723107_thumb.jpeg

post-4384-0-50414100-1518723126_thumb.jpeg

post-4384-0-43602800-1518723140_thumb.jpeg

post-4384-0-44085700-1518723166_thumb.jpeg

post-4384-0-06073400-1518723179_thumb.jpeg

post-4384-0-90212500-1518723192_thumb.jpeg

• Like 1

few more in index my guess its this guy

MORITSUNA (盛綱), Kan´ei (寛永, 1624-1644), Awa – “Moritsuna” (盛綱), “Ashū-jū Moritsuna saku” (阿州住 盛綱作), “Awa no Kuni-jū Sakon Shōgen Moritsuna saku” (阿波国住左近将監盛綱作), “Sakon Shōgen Moritsuna” (左近将監盛綱), chūjō-saku

500 is ok but not much more

• Like 1

Dear Steve,