Japanese Matchlock Help!

Hello Gentlemen,

I'm quite new to Japanese Matchlock's and this board seemed very knowledge on the subject, so I was wondering you fine gentlemen could help me with mine. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. 

Also, if anyone could point me in the direction of a book, or website that has a good comprehensive study and explanation of the history and evolution of Japanese Matchlock's for a beginner, I would greatly appreciate that as well. 

Thank you in advance.

post-4309-0-11564600-1511279795_thumb.jpg

post-4309-0-73151300-1511279951_thumb.jpg

post-4309-0-81396900-1511279967_thumb.jpg

post-4309-0-77102400-1511279977_thumb.jpg

post-4309-0-04875500-1511280004_thumb.jpg

post-4309-0-28229500-1511280030_thumb.jpg

post-4309-0-06559400-1511280865_thumb.jpg

Next time please sign with your real name. Makes for a much more friendly forum.

Well, I must say that you’ve done very well for a beginners gun.

What you have there is a very healthy looking 10-monme Seki-ryu matchlock. A quite rare style of matchlock. The first model was made shortly after the Summer-siege of 1615 by a former retainer of the Yonezawa domain by the name of Seki Hachiza’emon Yukinobu. He more or less copied the design from his Sensei in Yonezawa.

This particular stule of matchlock was made all through the Edo period. Elongated trigger guard and an iron ramrod is first and foremost what makes this gun stand out amongst other matchlocks.

I’m sure the signature on top of the barrel can be translated by someone gifted in the Japanese language.

As to books, the output is rather limited. I would rec Sugawa-san’s book ”The Japanese Matchlock 1” as a behinners book in English.

If you look carefully here under the Matchlock-section of this forum you will be able to find another book in English that might help you further your knowledge regarding matchlocks ;)

Congrats to a very nice first gun. Wish I’d been as lucky back when I stated collect matchlocks.

Jam