Robert Haynes Short Nbthk History

Yes. Bob Haynes certainly has the background and historical/cultural experience to give insight on this. I hadn't seen this article yet.

Any organization that holds a monopoly on designating and assigning value to a desirable, valuable commodity and the rules used to control this value is open to a great deal of collusion. Interesting about the Yakuza. Did not know that. Even without the criminal influence, human nature and the temptation to create and control the market for what one is dealing in could be regarded with suspicion.

As a beginner I find this depressing. But it is also a good motivator for me to study harder so I can make my own evaluations. Always a good idea to think for yourself despite what other collectors might say, especially when collecting antiques of any category. I've picked up a lot of pieces that other collectors "passed" on because I had the confidence of an experienced eye. Too bad it will be a long time before I can enjoy this same advantage with Japanese swords.

tom

• Like 1

I've never met Robert Haynes nor was I alive in the early days of NBTHK or even during the "Yakuza crisis". But I got from the article that he has quite negative view of the modern day NBTHK. Living in different continent and different era I personally have quite different views as I am very appreciative of NBTHK and its international branches.

Where would Japanese sword collecting be without the NBTHK might be the question? I personally appreciate NTHK, NTHK NPO, JSSUS, European organizations etc. everyone promoting the study and collecting of Japanese swords is doing are great job. Of course as it is with humans there will always be power struggles.

Stories are always different depending on who is telling them. It was nice to hear his point of view.

• Like 7